Unit of length convenient for measuring wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation. Named after the Swedish physicist Anders Jonas Ångström (1814-1874), a founder of spectroscopy. 1 Å = 10-10 m. Most of the visible spectrum lies in the 3900-7500 Å range. Not an SI unit, though it is considered part of the metric system.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.